Wednesday, February 18, 2009

Jaraula vows to support Oro campus writers in national press conference

Cagayan de Oro City mayor Constantino G. Jaraula threw his all-out support to the participation of the 48-man Cagayan de Oro City official delegation in the forthcoming National Schools Press Conference to be held on February 15-21, 2009 at Naga City .

This developed after Mayor Jaraula assured funding support from the city government’s Local School Board (LSB) even as he committed to shoulder the P3,000 registration fee of each participants, including a discounted round trip airfare and bus fare to and from Manila to Naga City.

The 48-man official Cagayan de Oro City delegation, led by division supervisors Liceria Pasilan and Pepa Pontillas, recently paid a courtesy call to Mayor Jaraula to seek the latter’s support for their trip.

The participants are composed of the ‘cream of the crop’ elementary and secondary students from both public and private schools in Cagayan de Oro City, along with their school paper advisers, who emerged as top three winners in the regional competition on radio broadcasting and script writing contests.

Mayor Jaraula hopes that the exposure of the young students to the national conference will broaden their insights and horizons by gaining actual experience in the competition, which centers on the theme: “Climate Change- A Call for Responsible Campus Journalism”.

The delegates in the elementary division are Charisse Kim Lamberte, Yvette Moyor Domo, Faith Love Cainday, Genzel Hanz Bacsal, Richard Oliveros Alicia Marie Galito, Reymark Baguhin, Dave Robinson Mugot, Cinderella Faye Obeñito, Starra Jane Furton, Renzo Miguel Akiat, Cris Mullence Bazar, Devijane Jandayan and Shaira Pimentel.
While the competing high school students are: Rica Angela Aquino, Catherine Maestrado, Ariana June Abarquez, Prince Jamie Omagap, Eliza Mae Quijada, Clinton Masayon, Josephine Kaye Daydora, Jocell Sedigo, Jan Joseph Rivera, Shelley Manapil, Dennis Paul Comandante, Mariel Apple Maandig, Tria Sizane Sabio, Ashian Marie Jalnaiz, Dawn Angelie Guiñares and Xenia Claire Valencia.

The school paper advisers are: Lovella Cabanday, Erlinda Escabusa, Melba Abrio, Charlotte Maestrado, Mary Junneth Lesis, Ma. Dulce Cuerquis, Cristita Sander, Anili Butcon, Malou Cagalitan, Chenito Illana, Ruby Obsioma, Salome Violeta, Nonette Limbaco, Michael Villamor and Veronica Mutia.

The delegation is scheduled to leave bound for Naga City on February 14, 2009. CIO


Post a Comment

Facebook Badge


Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites